We've updated our Terms of Use. You can review the changes here.
/
  • Streaming + Download

    Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    Purchasable with gift card

      $5 USD  or more

     

  • Ketcel Cassette Tape by e.g. phospate Tape ONLY Option
    Cassette + Digital Album

    SOLD OUT. Please visit ketcel.com and buy them directly from the author.

    Includes unlimited streaming of Ketcel by e.g. phosphate via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.

    Sold Out

  • Ketcel Book ONLY Option

    This is the BOOK ONLY option.

    Ketcel is an absurdist, hopeful-dystopian, psychedelic post-cyberpunk adventure, inspired by the half-truths of history, current events, and all-too-possible futures.

    This story is in the tradition of authors such as William Gibson, Neal Stephenson, and Greg Egan, using an absurdist near-future to talk about current events, politics, border dynamics, and a little bit of philosophy. Think Black Mirror with a sense of humor, set in San Diego’s backyard (Jacumba, TJ, Mexicali, and many places in between).

    Sold Out

  • Ketcel Book and Cassette Tape Bundle ONLY Option

    This is the BOOK AND TAPE bundle ONLY.

    Ketcel is an absurdist, hopeful-dystopian, psychedelic post-cyberpunk adventure, inspired by the half-truths of history, current events, and all-too-possible futures.

    This story is in the tradition of authors such as William Gibson, Neal Stephenson, and Greg Egan, using an absurdist near-future to talk about current events, politics, border dynamics, and a little bit of philosophy. Think Black Mirror with a sense of humor, set in San Diego’s backyard (Jacumba, TJ, Mexicali, and many places in between).

    $25.00 applies to US only. Outside US, get in touch.

    Sold Out

1.
2.
3.
La Zona 04:37
4.
5.
6.
Vodouware 04:01
7.
Not-Casseus 03:42
8.
Garbage Wall 03:50
9.
El Hongo 02:44

about

Ketcel by e.g. phosphate (Chad Deal) is the soundtrack to the psychedelic post-cyberpunk novel of the same name, evoking the urban, natural, and virtual landscapes of borderland Baja California and cyberspace.

The author incorporates samples and compositions by Tijuana experimental musicians Haydeé Jiménez (Hidhawk), Minuit De Lacroix, and Bobby Ordoñez (1MFS) into a multi-genre journey through IDM/braindance, abstract sound design, field recordings, krautrock, breakcore, Mongolian folk, polyrhythms inspired by Haitian vodou drumming, noise, and ambient. Mastering and additional mixing by Steve Canfield (Otherr).

credits

released February 28, 2021

Mixing on tracks 3 & 6 and mastering by Steve Canfield.

license

all rights reserved

tags

about

Stay Strange San Diego, California

Stay Strange is a new music cassette series that caters to the adventurous listener.

The sounds of experimental, noise, outsider art & music.

You are encouraged to not only listen with open ears, but with open minds!
... more

contact / help

Contact Stay Strange

Streaming and
Download help

Redeem code

Report this album or account

If you like Ketcel by e.g. phosphate, you may also like: